Main

review Archives

August 14, 2007

Picross DS


Tired of Sudoku but not quite ready step up to the big boy leagues of crossword puzzles? Try Picross! Simple enough for four year olds yet complex enough for seven year olds! Keeps your elderly distracted during their humiliating, yet necessary, towel baths! Damn you grandma, that’s what the bed pan is for! Basically, it’s nonograms for your DS. Que the sound of a 1000 browsers going to wikipedia.

Continue reading "Picross DS" »

August 20, 2007

The Magic Numbers


…are simply put: amazing. Alice and I went to see them at the El Ray Theater in Beverly Hills last week. The lady on bass is so fast it’s scary to watch. But the real surprise came from one the opening band The Little Ones. The beats were catchy and the lyrics weren’t too bad. Their bass guitarist is kind of dorky but really energetic and fun to watch. I picked up their EP they were selling at the show, Sing Songs. The standout tracks are "Face the Facts" and "Lovers who Uncover". Not too bad for $7.

October 19, 2007

King Taco in Long Beach


They finally opened reopened the King Taco that's somewhat close to Orange County. This one is on Long Beach Blvd and Pacific Coast Highway. For those who don't know, King Taco is the chain version of El Taurino a.k.a "The Best Fling Flanging Burrito Place in LA". I went there during my lunchbreak yesterday because I was really craving their sauce (even though I can only take a couple of drops of it). Anyways 15 mins to get there, 10 to order, 20 to get my food, and I ate the whole burrito in less than a minute. That's not even an exaggeration. I ate my burrito in the time it took this lady to stand up and get a napkin.

November 20, 2007

The HAHA with David Cross & Demetri Martin


Ripping on celebs while they’re living their personal lives is too easy. They’re humans just like you or me; capable of getting in DUI’s or other legal proceedings. It’s when they put their best foot forward and apply all of their Hollywood gloss and polish and still fail that true comedy gold occurs. Take this article for example: Two very funny men, David Cross and Demetri Martin team up to rip the vocal talents of big screen actors to shreds. Hilarious.

November 21, 2007

Eagle vs Shark


Where’d this movie come from? Oh New Zealand? Sounds about right. If you haven’t already, go see Eagle vs Shark. Remember how Napoleon Dynamite was the odd-ball sleeper hit turned annoying pop culture icon? Then everyone and their mom started incessantly quoting that movie? Yeah, EvS is kind of like that, but with funnier accents. So, go see it before they pull it from theaters? What’s that? It’s already gone? Nevermind then, buy it when it comes out on DVD. Justin is waiting for you.

April 13, 2009

OSX on a Dell Inspiron 530

frakenmac.jpg
Pardon my geek for a moment. A year ago, some clever folks figured out how to run OSX, Apple's beloved operating system, on non-apple made machines. Intrigued, I gave it a try and failed miserably. With no real documentation around, I figured this project was one of those pie-in-the-sky hopes; the type of thing that only people who code their own video drivers for Linux could accomplish. A year passed and I heard that people were making streamlined installation discs, modifying their own drivers, and even documenting their installation process. So I thought to myself, "let's give'er another go".

Continue reading "OSX on a Dell Inspiron 530" »

May 4, 2011

You break it, you buy it.


The iPhone is a magical device. Sure that's great and all, but for the rest of us that want our stuff to work without any hocus-pocus or incantations, Android seems to be the way to go. The mere fact that I was able to move all my data, apps, and preferences from an older, slightly-dated phone to the current generation phone is a testament to Google's open platform.

About review

This page contains an archive of all entries posted to evilsushi in the review category. They are listed from oldest to newest.

rant is the previous category.

Many more can be found on the main index page or by looking through the archives.